Beat the Test.

July 10, 2007

Speaking Patterns for Question 1

Filed under: Uncategorized — beatthetest @ 4:49 am

Personal Preference ¢£££££
Preparation: 15 sec / Response: 45 sec

The test taker must state a preference from a given category-for example, important people or places, or events or activities that the test taker enjoys.

Giving an opinion
I think / feel / believe (that)…
In my opinion,…
Personally, I…
For me,…

Stating a preference
A/an ____________ is…
If I had the chance, I would like to…
I would absolutely love to…
___________would be a great ___________.
I would (definitely) ___________ for many reasons.

Using superlatives
The best ___(noun)____ is…
The most ___(adjective)____ is…
The _____est ___(noun)___ is…
(One of) my favorite ___________ is…

Giving examples
a) Beginning
• First,
• To begin with,
• The main reason that/for/why ________ is…
• One reason why I…

b) Middle
• Second, third…
• In addition,
• As well,
• I further think/feel that…
• …also…
• Another reason why I…

c) Final
• Moreover,…
• Furthermore,…
• Finally,…

Including details
For example,
For instance, __________.
_________ such as __________.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

